Fridges

Question. Why are fridges magnetic? I mean, I’m sure it has an origin is science. Does the actual cooling mechanism work by magnets? I’m pretty sure it doesn’t; it works by heat exchange of a refrigerant that evaporates.
So I think it’s kinda cool that fridges are still magnetic even though they (probably) don’t need to be. Although I’m open to correction.
And who’s gonna stop making fridges magnetic? Fridge magnets are just something that’s assumed. So many places have ads or business cards on fridge magnets. They’re souvenirs, they’re given out by schools and councils etc.
Which is kinda cool, in my opinion. It basically is the council and society running on the assumption that you regularly frequent your fridge. So my conclusion is that the world works because I eat when I’m bored,
What are your thoughts?

