On the Will of God – Part I

I just finished listening to Al Mohler’s sermon, “Prove it: Knowing and Doing the Will of God.” It’s from the resolved conference.

It was heavy; often we spend so much time thinking about what the will of God is that we forget how much of it we know, and neglect to do the stuff we do know. So what do we do? Focus on living what we do know. The few things that I was hit by in particular;

It’s God’s will that I was born Male, for a distinct purpose. Down the track that means I’m looking for a godly woman who gets the importance of manhood and womanhood as God created them and delights in them.

It’s God’s will that I grow. This sermon (and others) have challenged me about being a Godly young man. 1 Corinthians 13:11 and 16:13 are great verses, and also 1 John 2:14 . I’m challenged to take responsibility and have purpose, when a lot of Australian young adult/uni culture is about goofing off and extending adolescence. It’s  an epic chance to witness.

Down the track, the likelihood is that it is God’s will for me to get married. That’s a while off (I have a LOT of growing to do before that’s even the remotest possibility). But that means that down the track I will meet a godly girl/woman  (if it’s God’s will for me to marry her, He’ll introduce us at some point) with whom I would be equally yoked, and who brings out Christian virtues in me.

This is a HUGE one. I was SLAMMED by how much better I need to get at leading. That does include leading in an institutional sense, but the biggest area where I am sinful, in failing to do God’s will is in elading in my family. I fall massively short of doing God’s will in leading my siblings (particularly my family, but also my family in Christ). These are lives that it is God’s will for me to work hard at; to point them to Him, to help them and guide them in their faith and holiness.

One comment on “On the Will of God – Part I

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hey Ba, I've been thinking about 'the will of God' recently. So often it becomes a sort of 'mystery' for Christians, saying "If it's Gods will, I'll do this, or that" but reading the bible just repeatedly shouts out His will.Ephesians 4 says we were "created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness"Romans 8 says "those who God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son"1 Thess 4 says "It is God's will taht you should be sanctified"Titus 2 says Christ came to "purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.and Titus 3 says God saved us "SO THAT, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having hope of eternal life… devoting ourselves to doing what is good."It's pretty clear God's will is this: We become one with Jesus Christ, not just metaphorically, but our mind must actually be one with Christ's (Philippians 2)Love your work, BaWill <3

What are your thoughts?

