The Road Not Taken – Thoughts part I

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

It’s a great poem by Robert Frost. Upon reading, you totally understand his feeling; how will you look back on your decisions? Will you regret them? You won’t ever be able to undo it, or take a different path in life; every decision leads you down a unique path.

Sometimes following Christ can seem that way. Even though we see in Romans 8 and Revelation 21 that all our sufferings, everything that we miss out on for following the Christian life will be not worth considering, and will be more than made up for. Psalm 16 and Romans 15 suggest all benefit, all Joy, all peace, are found in God. But even so, there is always a sinful niggling that we are missing out, we are “sorry [we] could not travel both and be one traveler”.

But when it comes down to it, Jesus says there is only one road to life.
Matthew 7:13-14 says:
“Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.

In this case, the other way is not “as just as fair”. It is more popular, well-trodden. Too many people get to the divergence and decide to go the road of the majority, marking Jesus, who is the real Way (John 14:6) for another day.

I’m not like Frost; when I go about life I know which road I plan to take. The terrain is harder, and it can be tough. The company is small (but Joyous and supportive!). But I choose to go by the road less travelled not just on a whim, but out of a desire to glorify my Lord.
Here is one thing that we do agree on;

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

Jesus makes all the difference. Amen

What are your thoughts?

