His Blood be on Us and Our Children

“So when Pilate saw that he was gaining nothing, but rather that a riot was beginning, he took water and washed his hands before the crowd, saying, “I am innocent of this man’s blood; see to it yourselves.” And all the people answered, “His blood be on us and on our children!” Then he released for them Barabbas, and having scourged Jesus, delivered him to be crucified.”

                                                                                                -Matthew 27:24-26 

I found this brutally chilling when I read it yesterday, and I was convicted of how destructive and wicked the legacy of sin is. I don’t treat it as such a powerful and depraved thing. We have Christ’s blood on our hands, but in accepting that death, Jesus forgave us. Wow.

“It was my sin that held Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished”

What are your thoughts?

