Come, Hear

 Come and hear, all you who fear God,
and I will tell what he has done for my soul.
I cried to him with my mouth,
and high praise was on my tongue
If I had cherished iniquity in my heart,
the Lord would not have listened.
But truly God has listened;
he has attended to the voice of my prayer.
Blessed be God,
because he has not rejected my prayer
or removed his steadfast love from me!

Psalm 66:16-20 is beautiful; it’s a simple and powerful testimony from the Psalmist. Significantly pre-dating Christ, I love the way in which this is still applicable to me and all saints today.
The psalmist calls out in a desperate appeal to God – he recognises that he is sinful, and that it is disgusting. he knows that you can’t be saved or experience the ultimate love of god if you cherish sin.  He is testifying to God’s faithfulness, presence and love. 
And here’s the thing; he is using his testimony to glorify God and encourage others. 
Any Christian testimony has the same elements; a recognition that God is holy, followed by a plea to Him. A genuine repentance, and joy in God’s response of faithful love. 
But too often I (and others) don’t do the same; I don’t take the initiative to testify to my own salvation.
I need to get much more intentional about saying “I will tell you what he has done for my soul.”
One comment on “Come, Hear

What are your thoughts?

